I love this list but the simple divisions and hierarchy in taxonomy is difficult to remember, I found it, along with a definition.

From highest (most inclusive) to lowest (most specific), the major formal taxonomic units, or “ranks” are:

  • Domain (= Superkingdom)
  • Kingdom
  • Phylum (often called a “Division” in botany)
  • Class
  • Order
  • Family
  • Genus
  • Species

Intermediate divisions are often used, “subspecies” and “variety” being very commonly employed at the lower end.

There is a lot more to it.

I still don’t believe in a cross-species evolution, however one phrases the terminology these days.